Canadian and Mexican Politicians Cheat Sheet

Version 3.0 Politicians are listed roughly chronologically. **Bolded** terms appear frequently in questions.

Canadian

Politician	Details
John <u>Macdonald</u>	first prime minister of Canada (1867-1873); passed the Manitoba Act, which led to the Red River Rebellion ; resigned over the Pacific Scandal , involving over 100 Conservative politicians taking bribes over a rail contract
William Lyon Mackenzie <u>King</u>	longest serving prime minister in Canadian history; served three terms, including at the start of the Great Depression and throughout World War II; led the Liberal Party and helped create the Canadian welfare state
Lester Pearson	won a Nobel Peace Prize for resolving the Suez Crisis ; led the adoption of universal health care and the Maple Leaf flag
Pierre <u>Trudeau</u>	served as prime minister for most of 1968-1984; invoked the War Measures Act during the October Crisis , in which Quebecois terrorists kidnapped and killed Pierre Laporte; went for a "walk in the snow" to decide on his retirement
Stephen <u>Harper</u>	served from 2006-2015; oversaw the merger of the Progressive Conservatives and Canadian Alliance into the Conservative Party ; withdrew Canada from the Kyoto Protocol
Justin <u>Trudeau</u>	son of Pierre Trudeau; elected prime minister in 2015; named the first gender-balanced Cabinet in Canadian history; controversially intervened in a criminal case against SNC-Lavalin

Mexican

Mexican	
Politician	Details
Antonio López de <u>Santa Anna</u>	served as president in eleven different stints; rebelled against Agustin Iturbide via the Plan of Veracruz in 1822; led Mexican forces in the Texas Revolution and the Mexican-American War ; ultimately overthrown in the Plan of Ayutla in 1855
Benito <u>Juarez</u>	led the Liberals during the 1857-1860 Reform War ; confirmed the death sentence of Emperor Maximilian; first indigenous leader of Mexico
Porfírio <u>Diaz</u>	served seven terms as president in three stints between 1876 and 1911, when he was ousted in the Mexican Revolution; revolted against Juarez, arguing that presidents shouldn't be re-elected; led the Cientificos , or "scientists"
Francisco Madero	issued the Plan of San Luis Potosi against Diaz in 1910; was targeted by Emiliano Zapata's Plan of Ayala for not being quick enough in promoting land reform; was assassinated shortly after the Ten Tragic Days
Victoriano Huerta	led the 1913 military coup against Madero; was ousted in 1914 and fled to Spain
Venustiano <u>Carranza</u>	secured power after the Mexican Revolution and was the first president under the new constitution, which forbade his re-election; was assassinated in 1920 after attempting to keep power through a figurehead successor, Ignacio Bonillas
Vicente Fox	served as president from 2000 to 2006 on the National Action Party (PAN) ticket, marking the first time since 1934 that the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) did not hold power
Andrés Manuel López Obrador	was elected to a six-year term in 2018; leads the leftist party MORENA, the National Regeneration Movement; known by the initials AMLO